India vs. Sri Lanka: Shubman Gill, Mohammed Siraj, and Shreyas Iyer Dropped?

India vs. Sri Lanka: Gill, Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer Under Pressure

India vs. Sri Lanka: In the upcoming 33rd league-stage match of the World Cup, India will be facing Sri Lanka on home soil. The Indian team has been on a roll, winning all six of their matches in the competition under the exceptional Rohit Sharma’s leadership. On the other hand, Sri Lanka’s performance has been a mixed bag, with two wins and four losses.

While Mohammed Shami’s resurgence has injected new life into India’s bowling attack, the inconsistent performances of Shubman Gill, Mohammed Siraj, and Shreyas Iyer have posed a selection dilemma for the team management.

Gill, who was expected to shine as one of India’s star performers, has struggled, scoring only 103 runs in four innings with an average of 26. He has been particularly vulnerable against pacers, making Sri Lanka’s new ball attack of Dilshan Madushanka and Kasun Rajitha a potential threat to him.

Despite Gill’s struggles, the Indian team has shown faith in him and is unlikely to drop him for the upcoming match against Sri Lanka. This game could provide him with the opportunity to regain his form before the crucial knockout stage.

Also Read: ICC ODI World Cup 2023: A Social Media Sensation

Mohammed Siraj and Shreyas Iyer have also underperformed in this World Cup. Siraj has managed to take only six wickets in six matches, while Iyer has struggled against short-pitched deliveries.

Considering the Indian think tank’s inclination to maintain consistency in the team combination, it is unlikely that either Siraj or Iyer will be dropped for the Sri Lanka game. However, if the team management decides to rest them, Ishan Kishan and Shardul Thakur could potentially step in as replacements.

The pitch in Mumbai is expected to be flat, making it highly unlikely for Ravichandran Ashwin to replace any of the aforementioned players in the playing XI.

Probable Playing XI: India vs. Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer/Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj/Shardul Thakur

Click Here to Follow PakkaFilmy in Google News

Join WhatsApp